Posted by: beckyledlow | August 31, 2009

Wake Me Up When September Ends

This is going to be a crazy month!  I don’t really want to whip through it because a lot of amazing moments are going to happen that I won’t want to forget.  Still, I think my husband and I will both go a little nuts at different points through the next 30 days.  Here’s what’s on our plate:

1.  Shopping for a fridge
The new house will not have a fridge, and we can’t really live there until this is changed.  Luckily, Labor Day is coming soon and with that ususally comes SALES…that’s what we’re hoping anyway.  We have money set aside for this and from previous shopping trips have certain ideas of what will we like and can afford, and I’m hoping this cuts down the time needed for deciding on the purchase.

2.  Closing on the house
I can’t wait for this day!  I am taking half a day off of work even though it won’t take that long to do that paperwork.  I just know that once we sign everything I won’t want to go back!  We plan to take our realtor out to dinner that night to thank her for doing an awesome job helping us find a great house and keeping everything realistic for us.

3.  Moving
Original Plan: move at the end of September.  New Plan: move two days after closing because it is the only semi-free weekend we have.  This means I have two fewer weeks than I anticipated to pack, but this has already started and my husband is gung-ho.  Packing is my least favorite part of moving, but he is good at helping me be motivated.

4.  Two major church weekends
I am super-excited about the two middle weekends of September and what is going on at church.  The EPIC service is moving into the new Fine Arts and Worship center, and I can’t wait to see how God will move through the whole church because of it!  Please pray for this and for God’s hand to work mightily.  My husband especially will be busy preparing for these two initial services, and I will begin helping with Set-Up and Tear-Down this year for the sundays he is preaching at EPIC. In case you want to join us for the first complete service in the new location, worship begins at 9:30 am on September 20th.

5.  The Pastor’s Wives Retreat
Yes, those really exist, and the one in Texas has an especially strong following.  One of my friends gets to go this year (she was only a Pastor’s fiance last year…), and I am looking forward to spending time with her on the ride down and through the weekend.  Last year’s theme was prayer and reflection, so we’ll see how this year compares.  The only part I wish was different is the almost 5 hour drive to the camp…

As busy as it will be, I love going through this with my husband and look forward to sharing many of these moments with friends and family.  Talk to us in October, though, and we actually might be breathing again.


Leave a comment

Categories